Capitol Special Forces Trooper

“Capitol, fuck yeah!” -Team Capitol theme song

I wanted to do a quick project after the Devastator Squad, and thought that my one Warzone figure would be perfect for this. It’s either a Capitol Special Forces Trooper with M516D Shotgun (according to the Warzone rulebook), or a Light Infantry Captain #2 (Prince August).

Painting him was pretty fun, and as this was a single miniature, I could try out some techniques that I wouldn’t have tried with a whole squad. I painted a camo pattern on the clothes, chipping on the armor and a freehand shoulder pad design. I’m very happy with the chipping and the armor panels, but the camo pattern didn’t work out as nicely as I had envisioned. Part of the reason I think is the fact that the sculpt was completely flat (and weirdly blocky), so that washes didn’t really help. I also got to paint an industrial base, like on my upcoming Skaven. I’ll probably make some alterations for those, but this was good practice.

I thought about the paint scheme for a good while (the figure had been primed since last October!). I originally thought I’d go for an urban camo, but when I found PDF-copies of some Warzone rulebooks, I spotted the illustration below. The American flag design really caught my eye, and I decided to go for it. The camo pattern might not be the best fit for the base, but it’s not an impossible match. The trooper could be in some industrial complex in the middle of a jungle.

Image from Warzone – Dark Eden. © Target Games AB 1997.

So where did I get the figure? I think my little brother got it in a trade from his friend circa 2000, and it eventually ended up to me. The original model and what little paint it had left on it can be seen below. It was never as cool as 40k models, but I thought it would be neat to try to rescue it. After stripping the model, I noticed it had surprisingly many details, especially on the face. Not much, but more than I originally thought. The eye on this model was a bit weird: it was a literal bead, which made dotting it pretty easy, but painting the white was awkward. Finally, there was a small nub on its back, presumably to attach a big knife/sword, but as I didn’t have the accessory I filed it off.

Again, one square off the bingo card! I’m calling this guy a pre-painted model, as I don’t think I’m going to repaint any factory pre-painted models any time soon.. Also, he counts for Azazel’s Armoured April, as he’s got some frankly ridiculous shoulder pads!

8 thoughts on “Capitol Special Forces Trooper

  1. Great work! Some of those old WarZone figures can be real fun to just paint up. Love the freehand on his star-spangled shoulder pad as well!

    Like

    1. Thanks Az! Yup, for the most part I had much fun painting this guy! The flag-pad was a bit harrowing but not that bad in the end, and I’m certainly liking the result. It’s kind of a shame that this will most likely be my only Warzone figure ever, as there were some pretty cool models in the range..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment